Around Bradenton Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Alfred Eisenstaedt: Defining Moments

Photography, Museum
Alfred Eisenstaedt was one of the luminaries of American photojournalism. The German-born Eisenstaedt learned his craft in Europe in the 1920s and 30s, pioneering the use of the small Leica 35mm camera to get closer to his subjects and create more candid pictures. Eisenstaedt’s skillful reportage for the Associated Press earned him praise and recognition as he recorded countless historically significant events and people around the world. Fleeing the rise of fascism in the 1930s, Eisenstaedt came to the US where he became one of the first photojournalists of LIFE Magazine, the weekly newsmagazine that chronicled the twentieth century in pictures. His career at Life magazine photographing the notable and newsworthy, spanned nearly forty years and resulted in some of the most iconic images of the era. The photographs on exhibition, part of The Ringling’s permanent collection, present subjects both notable and obscure. While only a fraction of the thousands of images Eisenstaedt created in his lifetime they offer a glimpse into the work of one of the most celebrated photojournalists.
Museum;Art;Photography
Event Info: (941) 359-5700
Ages: All
Price: Museum admission: $25; discounts for children, college students, seniors & military
Event Website: www.ringling.org/events/alfred-eisenstaedt-defining-moments
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Wed 11/15/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/16/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/17/17 - Wed 11/22/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 11/24/17 - Wed 11/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/30/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/1/17 - Wed 12/6/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/7/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/8/17 - Wed 12/13/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/14/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/15/17 - Wed 12/20/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/21/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/22/17 - Sun 12/24/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/26/17 - Wed 12/27/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/28/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/29/17 - Sun 12/31/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/2/18 - Wed 1/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/4/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/5/18 - Wed 1/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/11/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/12/18 - Wed 1/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/18/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/19/18 - Wed 1/24/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/25/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/26/18 - Wed 1/31/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/1/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/2/18 - Wed 2/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/8/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/9/18 - Wed 2/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/15/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/16/18 - Wed 2/21/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 2/22/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 2/23/18 - Wed 2/28/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/1/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/2/18 - Wed 3/7/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/8/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/9/18 - Wed 3/14/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 3/15/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 3/16/18 - Sun 3/18/18 at 10am-5pm 

John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art
address  5401 Bay Shore Rd.
 Sarasota, FL  34243
phone (941) 359-5700
hours Daily 10 am-5 pm; Thursdays until 8 pm
general adm $5-$25; free for children 5 and under and members
www.ringling.org/