Around Bradenton Things To Do Places To Go People To See Restaurants Movies log into calendar / register
Search by keyword or venue View Listings For A Day
    space Add Event



Approaching the Border

Multimedia, Photography
Approaching the Border will feature video works by five international artists that challenge us to examine our thinking about the US/Mexico border. As a group, these videos meditate on the social phenomena and politics of the border in an era when migration and the reemergence of nationalism are key global issues. Some artists situate their work in the actual space of the borderlands, in either México or the US, and thus bear the different inflections that the politics of the boundary manifest on each side. Other projects meditate on the power of borders as powerful signifiers and means of shaping our perceptions of identity and belonging.
Museum;Art;Video Art
Event Info: (941) 359-5700
Ages: All
Price: Museum admission: $25; discounts for children, college students, seniors & military
Event Website: www.ringling.org/events/approaching-border
Improve this listing

Share


Schedule
 • Sun 11/5/17 - Wed 11/8/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/9/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/10/17 - Wed 11/15/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/16/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 11/17/17 - Wed 11/22/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Fri 11/24/17 - Wed 11/29/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 11/30/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/1/17 - Wed 12/6/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/7/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/8/17 - Wed 12/13/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/14/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/15/17 - Wed 12/20/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/21/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/22/17 - Sun 12/24/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 12/26/17 - Wed 12/27/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 12/28/17 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 12/29/17 - Sun 12/31/17 at 10am-5pm 
 • Tue 1/2/18 - Wed 1/3/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/4/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/5/18 - Wed 1/10/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/11/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/12/18 - Wed 1/17/18 at 10am-5pm 
 • Thu 1/18/18 at 10am-8pm 
 • Fri 1/19/18 - Sun 1/21/18 at 10am-5pm 

John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art
address  5401 Bay Shore Rd.
 Sarasota, FL  34243
phone (941) 359-5700
hours Daily 10 am-5 pm; Thursdays until 8 pm
general adm $5-$25; free for children 5 and under and members
www.ringling.org/